About Loadingscreen & Preview

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  HuanAk on Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:33 am

thank for those who PM me offer help on loading screen.

I will put all detail in here, if you have any question or demo, you can post here or email me at huanAK@gmail.com

my photoshop skill suck, hopeful we will have some nice loading screen for next version Smile

------------

First, you can import 3 difference type of picture into warcraft 3:
- preview picture : this picture will display before game start (default picture is mini map)
- loading screen
- mini-map : after game start, you can see this picture on Left-Bottom corner


and I think Legion TD should use better mini map :

Please try out this map, you will know what I mean: (need to start game, and look at mini map inside game)
http://www.epicwar.com/maps/34285/
==>

===> ???

it require some good Paint or Photoshop skill


For loading screen :


1, here is example of loading screen


- you can use it as background layer for position of : loading bar, player name, mini map, (change 0% transparent or delete this layer after done)
- you don't need to put any text yet ( or you can type your own text with special effect, then allow me edit for difference version)
- I think Green Circle TD 10.5 have really good loading screen (simple color, object is big)
- I like Diablo 3's logo, not sure how hard to make a similar logo.
- Picture will lost quality after convert to loadingsceen, so small object may look bad after convert.
- actually, don't listen to me, find your own picture if you think your is better

Advance feature on loading screen:
- a good loading screen, should cut a square hole in the position of mini-map (save size)
- and use the "cutted" picture as Mini Map !!!!! ( so min-map is dispear on loading screen !!!! )
- Remember, this "cutted" picture also become mini map before game start, so it should look good ( "cuted" should = logo of the map)
- don't worry about these "cutted" thing if it doesn't look good. It is ok to have mini-map in there.


now, you can find picture from google, here is example :

Diablo 3 theme :
http://www.deviantart.com/download/244348283/wallpaper_1080p_diablo_3_by_deaviantwatcher-d41h8cb.jpg
http://www.hdwallpapersdesktop.com/Games/Diablo3/imagepages/image3.htm
http://game.gate.vn/Uploads/GameInfo/Media/Wallpaper/1294_09201142_16.jpg
http://fc00.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2010/287/8/2/diablo_3_wallpaper_by_bloodthechosen-d30s5zy.jpg
http://cdn.dragonblogger.com/images/diablo/Diablo3-wp14.jpg

or war of warcraft theme:
http://walls.free.total-wallpapers.com/free-wallpapers/1564/World-of-Warcraft.jpg
http://www.gamersbin.com/attachments/f137/6875d1312183709-jungle-world-warcraft-wallpaper-jungle-wallpaper-jungle-jpg






HuanAk
Admin
Admin

Posts : 411
Join date : 2011-04-15

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  shengshun on Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:02 pm

Greetings HuanAk

hey, here's my loading screen for legion td.. made the legion td font logo myself.. inspired by the warcraft logo ofc Very Happy



so uhmm.. if you need the files for it (preview pic, loading screen, and minimap) i can send them in your mail if you like...


Cheers,

shengshun

shengshun
Captain
Captain

Posts : 31
Join date : 2011-09-03

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  HuanAk on Sun Sep 11, 2011 7:31 pm


it look good, can you email me huanAK@gmail.com so I can put them for Beta 6.

I am sure I will use this for next, next version. because the loading screen on beta 5 will use for 3.4

for Preview :
- Grass area, Tree area and Wisp/townhall area look good (same as default minimap color)
- Spawn aree, hall to king and Arena look ok, not need change
- the border(grey/white area) and Sea should use some special effect, because they are not important (just for cool look)
- the word "legion", as well as the background banner should have special effect too, they are not important, just for cool look

for special effect, I mean something similar to "SMS" on my first post. (eg, it don't have to same as real mini-map)






HuanAk
Admin
Admin

Posts : 411
Join date : 2011-04-15

Back to top Go down

for loadscreen preview minimap

Post  shengshun on Sun Sep 11, 2011 11:00 pm

ok check this out...

i'm not sure if this is what you mean...



if you're ok with this i'll send them to you Cool


shengshun
Captain
Captain

Posts : 31
Join date : 2011-09-03

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  HuanAk on Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:29 am


lol, just send me, because I never know untill it try.

and I will put them on Beta 6 to see what player's feel (Beta 6 coming soon, possible Tuesday)

HuanAk
Admin
Admin

Posts : 411
Join date : 2011-04-15

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  shengshun on Mon Sep 12, 2011 7:05 am

HuanAk wrote:
lol, just send me, because I never know untill it try.

and I will put them on Beta 6 to see what player's feel (Beta 6 coming soon, possible Tuesday)

I already sent it earlier...

please confirm if you receieved it.. thx

shengshun
Captain
Captain

Posts : 31
Join date : 2011-09-03

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  HuanAk on Mon Sep 12, 2011 7:56 am

shengshun wrote:ok check this out...

i'm not sure if this is what you mean...



if you're ok with this i'll send them to you Cool


I only received the small picture with "legion td mega" logo.

I mean above picture, as well as the big loading screen.

PS, can you make "legion" 3D on above picture?

HuanAk
Admin
Admin

Posts : 411
Join date : 2011-04-15

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  shengshun on Mon Sep 12, 2011 7:47 pm

HuanAk wrote:
shengshun wrote:ok check this out...

i'm not sure if this is what you mean...



if you're ok with this i'll send them to you Cool


I only received the small picture with "legion td mega" logo.

I mean above picture, as well as the big loading screen.

PS, can you make "legion" 3D on above picture?




just grab the pic and save it if this is what you like.. too tired to email it... hehe

shengshun
Captain
Captain

Posts : 31
Join date : 2011-09-03

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  HuanAk on Mon Sep 12, 2011 8:41 pm

==>

===>

I just put them in my map :
- as you can see from above. your mini-map look very "shinny", doesn't fit well into warcraft interface
- I think old "legion" look better, it doesn't look shinny, and color match warcraft's interface, so you can leave the old text
- can you remove "arrow" on 8 spawn point, because warcraft will automatic put spawn point symbol on there

I don't know how to make it not shinny, maybe white color and sea ?






HuanAk
Admin
Admin

Posts : 411
Join date : 2011-04-15

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  HuanAk on Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:08 pm


Hi,

I give you one sample map, so you can try out yourself.
http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/maps-564/legion-td-mega-3-35-b5-194224/#post1905374

1, down that sample map

2, open map with world editor -> Module -> Import Manager

- the first 4 is for loading screen
- last image (War3MapMap.blp) is minimap

3,
to replaced with your own file : right click on image -> replaced file

just play around with it, untill you happy Smile

4,
Imformation for picture:

BotLeft.blp : 512x256
BotRight.blp : 512x256
TopLeft.blp : 512x512
TopRight.blp: 512x512

how to convert to blp:
- save picture in .TGA (from photoshop, must be 32 bit, without compression. or it will crash)
- then use warcraft 3 viewer -> Convert Files -> TGA to BLP



HuanAk
Admin
Admin

Posts : 411
Join date : 2011-04-15

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  shengshun on Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:44 am

hey man.. I tried testing the load screen but it turns out every time I import them it turns black.. Mad followed your instructions and got all 4 pieces, the LoadingScreenBotLeft/BR/TR/TL not sure how to fix it.. but I tried the minimap.blp and it's working well...

and btw.. I change it from glossy to this...

==>==>

I remade the map preview and it works well too..




shengshun
Captain
Captain

Posts : 31
Join date : 2011-09-03

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  HuanAk on Tue Sep 13, 2011 7:44 am

shengshun wrote:hey man.. I tried testing the load screen but it turns out every time I import them it turns black.. Mad followed your instructions and got all 4 pieces, the LoadingScreenBotLeft/BR/TR/TL not sure how to fix it.. but I tried the minimap.blp and it's working well...

and btw.. I change it from glossy to this...

==>==>

I remade the map preview and it works well too..




nice, I can't try it yet untill back home tonight.

for LoadingScreenBotLeft/BR/TR/TL :
- if you import it from fresh start, the original file name must same as the path (eg, something like human-TopRight.blp)
- if you import by "right click -> replaced file", then original file name can be anything
- also, all image must be 32 bit, never compression (when you save from photoshop)


HuanAk
Admin
Admin

Posts : 411
Join date : 2011-04-15

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  shengshun on Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:49 pm

HuanAk wrote:

for LoadingScreenBotLeft/BR/TR/TL :
- if you import it from fresh start, the original file name must same as the path (eg, something like human-TopRight.blp)
- if you import by "right click -> replaced file", then original file name can be anything
- also, all image must be 32 bit, never compression (when you save from photoshop)


yea i tried that also.. but it seems it doesn't work.. its all black.. xD ohh well guess i'm gonna test it later tonight too.. also do you have to import an .mdx file for loadscreens??

shengshun
Captain
Captain

Posts : 31
Join date : 2011-09-03

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  NERV on Tue Sep 13, 2011 6:25 pm

shengshun wrote:









I like those better than I like the current one. I really do! (: Good job sir.
avatar
NERV
Neotank

Posts : 262
Join date : 2011-09-01

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  HuanAk on Tue Sep 13, 2011 8:40 pm


yes, can you email me the loading screen file please ? so I can release next beta

I need original file with high detail(eg Photoshop .psd is perfect), or image file saved in .TGA.

file need :
- big loading screen
- logo
- mini map


HuanAk
Admin
Admin

Posts : 411
Join date : 2011-04-15

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  von_Oberstain on Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:47 pm

hey, np, i'll do few too...

exact diablo III version of logo with exact font, is that right? what it needs to say and how?

LEGIONTD (with or without space, caps and how) MEGA (same size, larger, in background, below?) version (where, down-left?)

you need gradient (red-yellow, as in diablo, something else, what about 'MEGA)

i'll probably do it in the afternoon, make few versions and send you .psd and fonts used.

maybe a minimap also, but i'm not quite sure what exactly you want... few ones posted already look good for me
avatar
von_Oberstain
Admin
Admin

Posts : 168
Join date : 2010-11-04
Age : 243
Location : LugbĂșrz, Mordor

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  HuanAk on Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:50 pm

von_Oberstain wrote:hey, np, i'll do few too...

exact diablo III version of logo with exact font, is that right? what it needs to say and how?

LEGIONTD (with or without space, caps and how) MEGA (same size, larger, in background, below?) version (where, down-left?)

you need gradient (red-yellow, as in diablo, something else, what about 'MEGA)

i'll probably do it in the afternoon, make few versions and send you .psd and fonts used.

maybe a minimap also, but i'm not quite sure what exactly you want... few ones posted already look good for me

check out this post:
http://legiontd.in-goo.com/t186-about-loadingscreen-preview#1258

I post a sample map to let you guy play around with picture.

you can even import another picture for war3preview

- war3preview -- will display as preview before game start, and on loading screen preview
- war3mapmap -- will display everywhere if you don't put preview picture. if you do, then it only display in-game as mini map
- loading screen -- if you import freshly, then the file name must be 100% same as path. if you import by "right click --> replaced picture", then it can be any file name (but still need .blp)

also, I found this usually result better quality :

DON"T : save picture as .JPG then convert to .BLP

DO: save picture as .TGA, then convert to .BLP

PS, So don't listen to me about what is good/bad loading screen... actually I never made any good loading screen so I don't know. I spent 2 day on Diablo 3 logo and give up. I end up with Legion on first line, then TD below. but the logo doesn't look good

HuanAk
Admin
Admin

Posts : 411
Join date : 2011-04-15

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  shengshun on Tue Sep 13, 2011 11:02 pm

HuanAk...

check email.. Smile

shengshun
Captain
Captain

Posts : 31
Join date : 2011-09-03

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  HuanAk on Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:07 pm


thank, it look reall nice.

I didn't use preview picture, because mini-map look good as preview Smile

map's size finally reach 1mb, but it is ok.


HuanAk
Admin
Admin

Posts : 411
Join date : 2011-04-15

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  shengshun on Thu Sep 15, 2011 1:20 am

no problem man.. glad to help..

1mb is not bad... besides a game with a nice looking loadscreen attracts players :p

shengshun
Captain
Captain

Posts : 31
Join date : 2011-09-03

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  HuanAk on Sat Sep 17, 2011 10:51 pm

shengshun wrote:no problem man.. glad to help..

1mb is not bad... besides a game with a nice looking loadscreen attracts players :p


shengshun, I really like your loading screen + mini map.

IT LOOK SOOOO GOOD !!!

I am soooo sick of that old, boring and urgly picture on 3.3 affraid

HuanAk
Admin
Admin

Posts : 411
Join date : 2011-04-15

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  VoiceInMind on Sun Sep 18, 2011 1:51 am

Is it possible to move minimap a little left? Here is screen, i sure u know what i mean: http://i28.fastpic.ru/big/2011/0914/0e/97a6ec835b365ab22bec8ed4ce79eb0e.jpg

VoiceInMind
Tempest
Tempest

Posts : 63
Join date : 2011-08-14

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  HuanAk on Sun Sep 18, 2011 8:02 am

VoiceInMind wrote:Is it possible to move minimap a little left? Here is screen, i sure u know what i mean: http://i28.fastpic.ru/big/2011/0914/0e/97a6ec835b365ab22bec8ed4ce79eb0e.jpg

I think this happen on 3.3 too ? somehow warcraft shift the map slightly toward right.


HuanAk
Admin
Admin

Posts : 411
Join date : 2011-04-15

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  shengshun on Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:08 am

bored and decided to do this.. i wanna draw a 4v4 mash-up from scratch but too lazy.. hehe

also...are you planning releasing the pirate race?


shengshun
Captain
Captain

Posts : 31
Join date : 2011-09-03

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  HuanAk on Sun Oct 23, 2011 5:51 pm


wow nice, very nice work.

yes, Pirate will include in next version. possible 2 race is I don't get stuck (I was stuck on W3MMD for 3.4 so it take so much longer)

HuanAk
Admin
Admin

Posts : 411
Join date : 2011-04-15

Back to top Go down

Re: About Loadingscreen & Preview

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum